Deactivate a Student Account

userXello AdminTime3 minutes

The process of managing student accounts in Xello depends on if your site has nightly data transfers or is on a less frequent data transfer schedule.

Nightly Data Transfers

If your site does nightly data transfers then student accounts are managed through your school's Management Information System (MIS). Ensure the student is at the correct site in your MIS and changes will be reflected in Xello the next day.

Scheduled Data Transfers

If your site is on scheduled data transfers and you need to make changes to student accounts between transfers:

  1. In the search bar located at the top of any page in your Educator Account, enter the student name or ID.
    Search bar in Xello educator account highlighted with cursor hovering
    Click to enlarge
    Search bar in Xello educator account highlighted with cursor hovering
    tipTip: Alternatively, from the left menu, click Students and select Student List to browse the full list of students.
  2. Click on the student name. The About Student tab of their profile opens.
    pointer hovering over search bar
    Click to enlarge
    pointer hovering over search bar
  3. From the top right of the student profile, click Options and select Deactivate Account.
  4. Click OK to confirm your choice.
noteNote: Once a student account is set to inactive, they can still access their account; however, they’ll be removed from all reports and lists, and will not receive messages from educators.

Deactivate Multiple Student Accounts

If there are multiple student accounts that you need to deactivate:

  1. From your Educator Account, click Students and select Student List to open the list of all students at your school.
    Click to enlarge
  2. Check the box beside each student name whose account you want to deactivate.
  3. Once students are selected, from the top of the list, click Change Account Status and select Deactivate Account.
    tipTip: If you've made a mistake and need to undo a deactivation, for as long as you remain on the page after confirming, you have the option to click Undo on the green confirmation bar at the top of the page. This will undo every deactivation you just applied.