Modify Lesson Sequence and Settings
userXello AdminTime3 minutes

Xello provides a recommended year for each lesson based on the topic area and the complexity of the content.

Administrators at your local authority can modify the recommended years, or shift the order of priority for how the lessons are shown to students based on the local authority’s goals and objectives. Individual lessons can also be deactivated if the content is not a priority for your local authority.

noteNote: Only those with administrator access can create or make these changes. To learn more about educator access and permissions, read the article on Educator Permissions.
In this article

Move a Lesson to Another Year

Meet your unique local authority recommendations and move a Xello lesson to a different year.

To move a lesson from one year to another: 

  1. From your educator account, click Features and select Lessons.
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
    Click to enlarge
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
  2. Drag and drop the lesson you want to change into the desired year level.
    • Your changes will save automatically.

arrow upBack to top


Assign a Lesson to Multiple Years

A Xello Lesson can be assigned to multiple years to meet local mandates. Students will see that lesson assigned in each year group but will complete it only once.

To assign a lesson to multiple year levels :

  1. From your educator account, click Features and select Lessons.
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
    Click to enlarge
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
  2. Find the lesson you wish to move and click on the title.
    • A dialog box with a summary of the lesson opens.
  3. From the bottom right, click Edit.
  4. Select each of the years you'd like the lesson to show in and click Save.

arrow upBack to top


Activate or Deactivate a Lesson

An individual Xello Lesson can be deactivated and later reactivated if the content is not a priority for your local authority.

To activate or deactivate a lesson:

  1. From your educator account, click Features and select Lessons.
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
    Click to enlarge
    Features menu open with cursor hovering over Lessons
  2. Find the one you plan to activate or deactivate and click on the title.
    • A dialog box with a summary of the lesson opens.
  3. From the bottom right, click Edit.
  4. From the top right, switch the Status Active toggle to either YES or NO.
    • Toggling to NO will mean students cannot see or access that lesson.
  5. Click Save.

arrow upBack to top